FULL-ishness

“You are so full of it!”

So,what’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear someone say this?  That no one believes a thing that person is saying, right?! This is Foolishness!

Ironically, the word “full” sounds like “fool” but let’s change our perspective when we hear, “you are full of it!” “Full” can commonly be defined as being complete or containing as much as possible . But some other definitions of “Full” and “Fullness” really stood out to me, such as “not lacking any essentials; being at the highest or greatest degree; not lacking;the period, point, or state of the greatest fullness or strength; the height of a period of time(according to Merriam-Webster) !

Picture yourself saying,  “I am at the state of the greatest strength” or “I am not lacking the essentials(needs)”- these phrases all mean the same thing as “I am full of it!” Sounds completely different, huh? This view of “Full” evokes confidence and being content.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t mind being full- my stomach with butterflies when I hear my husband’s voice on the phone almost every time, my hands with my sweet babies in them, my soul when I spend time with God, my belly with yummy food, my home and relationships with love, my hall closest full of toilet paper(I hate running out you guys! Am I the only one?) and maybe one of these days my bank account(hey, anything is possible!)

As D and I walked through our infertility and adoption journey, we relied heavily on our faith. Without Jesus, we would have and will never be completly full. One scripture that we referenced often was(personal emphasis added):

James 1:2-4New International Version (NIV)

Trials and Temptations

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete[FULL], not lacking anything[FULLNESS]…

After many years of longing and wanting to be parents, we remained persistant, and now we are not only parents to one, but three babies! My greatest times of trials dealing with infertility and being childless are now my greatest times of blessings, and they call me “Mommy.” This is Full- ishness and I am gladly Full!

So what is your “It”? We all have trials. It’s what you do with them that can make them your greatest blessings!

 

~Chantal

3-babies-logo

2 thoughts on “FULL-ishness

Leave a Reply

