“I QuIT!”

“I quit!”

This has got to be one of the most freeing statements as an adult, especially when you despise your job to the core. You know what I am talking about, you count down how many days until Friday starting on Saturday. On Sunday you spend most of the day dreading going to work on Monday and before you know it, it’s time to go to bed. Every time you get a paycheck you start looking at your bills and budget and trying to figure out just how much you can do without or not need, like rent, that’s not important, right?!

Well I have been there and done that too, my friends! The thing is, sometimes we are working in horrible environments, however what I have noticed for myself, the environment was not bad, I just was not working necessarily towards my “IT.” I would always say, if it were just better hours, closer to home, better pay, better this or that, that the job would be “perfect” but in reality the jobs that I absolutely loved were the total opposite because I knew that I was operating in what God wanted me to do and be.

One of my favorite movies for a good laugh and to put things in perspective is The Last Holiday(2006) starring Queen Latifah. She’s a middle aged woman that lived her life so safely that she missed out until she found out life changing news(this movie is a must see if you haven’t seen it yet!) The scene that stands out as I write this is:

Dr. Gupta: I quit my job!

Georgia Byrd:
Congratulations!

Dr. Gupta:
I quit my job!

Georgia Byrd:
You should’ve never had that job! ”

So true! We should’ve never had that job( and we knew it when we took it)!

Now, I am not saying that working a job that you don’t necessarily want to work to make ends meet is wrong . I have been there, done that! I have been a janitor, a fairground cook, a customer service representative, a nanny, a daycare provider, phonebook deliverer- if you name it, I have just about done it , if it was legal- all while going to school to get my degrees for psychology and social work( my passions).

I swore I would never want to stay home with my kids-but never say never! When we adopted Little C, I scaled back my hours significantly and was determined to not let my being a mother stop me from being a career woman(sigh). Then more and more, the feelings that I described up above began to set in and I knew what God was calling me to do, but I resisted it and in fact, I got a second job in the meantime. Do you see where this is going?

 

 

Mommy and Camille before work watermarked.png
My first day back to work after 3 months of maternity leave. Holding baby C in 2014. Photo by D.S.

 

After working 2 jobs and raising Little C for several months, the urge to quit working became so strong but it didn’t make sense. D and I were coasting financially and whenever we did the “math” we did not know how in the world it would be possible for me to stay at home. Things with Little C’s sitter went array and then we both knew- it was time.

Unaware of the fact that our birthmother was pregnant with twins and that we would get a life changing phone call 2 months later. How has it been living on one income- hard as …heck(I am working on not cussing, lol) ! Has there been moments that I miss working, contributing to the household financially, and being in a career I love- absolutely. But, say if I would not have obeyed what God was calling me to do, my “it?” D and I could have missed out on the greatest surprise blessings we now call M&M! I also would be missing out on the day to day moments that I can never get back. Bills will always be here, I can always get another job, I can work on becoming debt free in creative ways, but my children being this little and having a major role in their development daily, will not.

 

 

c-meets-m-and-m-watermarked
The day we brought home the twins in 2015. Little C and M&M were having the sweetest moment. The decision to become a full-time stay at home mom was life changing. Photo by Chantal S.

 

Now, if you are a mom that longs to stay home, please do not feel like you are less of a mother for not being home or that you are not doing what you need to do to make this happen. If you don’t hear anything that I say, hear this, YOU ARE A PHENOMENAL MOTHER and you don’t have to be a stay at home to have the same impact and experiences with your kids! If it is meant to be, it will be and the choices you need to make will become easier when you look at the overall vision.

My “it” during this season is to raise and teach my children full time- being a stay at home mom is now my full-time career. It was not an easy decision and is extremely hard but worth every moment. Motherhood is a job that I will never quit, however the way it is done may!

 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11New International Version (NIV)

What is your “it”? Are you operating in what God has purposed for you? Do you feel like there is more to life? Is it time to QUIT?

 

3-babies-logo

4 thoughts on ““I QuIT!”

Leave a Reply

