Walk “IT” Out

Picture a brisk fall night. Leaves are rustling. The wind is slightly blowing under the starry night sky. I am in my favorite comfy pajamas under the nice cozy warm blanket. The smell of the heat turning on for the first time this season. That moment when I am sleeping so soundly, I mean, the best sleep of my life and then suddenly I hear …”Hi Mommy.”

“Ahh!!! You scared the mess out of me! Go back to bed…uhh wait, go potty first. Mommy loves you, you just scared me but you are not in trouble, ok sweetie.” As my heart pounds like I just saw a ghost in a state of utter confusion!

This happens almost weekly.

In the wee hours of the night at least once a week, our daughter gets out of her bed oh so quietly, opens her door just barely so it won’t creak and so the owl chime I placed on her door won’t make a peep, walks down the very dark hallway, and into our room and stands by my side of the bed(for how long?! God only knows, literally!) and then eventually I guess she gets tired of just watching me sleep and finally says  “Hi.”

You would think that I would be used to it, but nope, I am not! (It’s ok to laugh, it’s sorta funny.)

So later on in the mornings, as I talk this over with my husband on the phone with my inside whispering voice, crouching under the blankets (so Little C won’t hear me, I wouldn’t want her to get a complex or anything, you know.)  I secretly confess that her nightly guest appearances freak me out! He lovingly validates me…NOT! My husband says, “well, at least she is not afraid of the dark!” I thought I was supposed to be the positive one?!?!  Dang it, my husband has a point though(yes, D, I admit it ok! You are right.)

Oh, to be able to walk boldly and confidently!

watermarked-fall-kids-photo
Chantal and D’s Crew. Little C was looking for leaves on the ground. Fall 2016. Photo Credit: Chantal S.

 

 

D and I are always trying to instill in our kids on a daily basis that they are fearfully and wonderfully made, that they have nothing to fear because God is always with us, that they are special, important, and loved. Our 3 year-old-daughter(yes, Little C had a birthday recently!) is not afraid of the dark and she is confident in knowing that she is not alone and knows the path to her parents room, even in the dark.

I told you that my crew of 3 are pretty awesome teachers, right!?!

Like Little C does with us, God wants us to know Him so well, so boldly, so confidently, so intimately, that we will not be afraid of the path that it takes us on to get to Him, even in the “dark.” Psalm 23:4(NIV)  states,  ” Even though I walk through the darkest valley,[a],I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

We are all walking away from something and are all walking towards something, that’s just a part of life. But, oh how great would it be if we all were walking towards our  “IT” and leaving the fear, doubt, and hesitation behind, even though it may seem like you are in the “darkest valley” right now?

 

Do you need to have your “Hi Mommy” moment with God? Little C knows that no matter what time of day it is, whether we are asleep or awake, whether it is light or dark; that she can come to us confidently and boldly , even if it is just to say  “Hi!” God is a good Father and unlike me in all of my humanness, He is waiting for that moment when we all come to Him and He will never be startled by your greeting, even if it is at 3 AM.

As I intentionally remind my children, I want to remind us(yeah, me too) as well, that you are loved, you are wanted, you are fearfully and wonderfully made, you have a purpose, you have nothing to fear, and God is always with you- even when you are trying to figure “it” all out.

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Psalm 139:13-15New International Version (NIV)

 

What “dark valley” are you walking through? Do you realize that you don’t have to do “IT” alone? Have you had your “Hi Mommy” moment with God yet? It is never too late!

~Chantal

3-babies-logo

7 thoughts on “Walk “IT” Out

  1. You just preached to me in this post. Ahhhh to walk boldly and confidently in both good and bad times. It’s easy when things are going well, the real test is when you are sitting right smack in the middle of the valley. Sometimes I feel like one of the Israelites wondering in the wilderness for 40 years on a journey that was only 240 miles or so. There are times when I am so confident and bold in my faith and that God will make a way or handle the problem. Then there are times when a situation presents itself and my first reaction is fear, it’s like I have completely forgotten all that God has bought me through. I go a few times around the mountain of fear before I rest in the Lord. One thing I do know is that with God’s help I will get to a place where no matter what comes my way my first reaction will be to walk boldly and confidently in faith.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @Heisforme-So true, I feel the same way. It’s easy to go into “fear” mode instead of “faith” mode. What a blessing that God is working on us and walking with us as we walk through those valleys. I am constantly referencing the Israelites and can totally understand how they were able to make a trip that was supposed to be only 11 days or so into 40 years- because I often lack faith and forget quickly what God provided or delivered me from. We are strengthening our faith walk together my friend!

      Like

    1. @Zainab Zahid- Yes, they are growing so fast! I truly appreciate you reading my post and for all of your encouragement and compliments . I enjoy reading and following your blog too! Looking forward to reading more of your perspective on life. Be blessed 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

