“It Ain’t About You!” You’re Not Fully Clean until you’re Entitlement Free

Hey, Hey, Hey, You Are Full of It Readers! Hope you all had a great holiday season and oh yeah, Happy New Year! Can you believe it is 2017!

So where the heck have I been? I know, it’s been almost a month since I have written a post.

During the times that I would normally post which is typically nap time or bedtime for my kids, I’ve been eating ice cream cups leftover from the kid’s birthday party and falling asleep on the couch and…rather enjoying it!

icecream
Woke up like this on the couch to an empty ice cream cup and a Fat Tuesday cup of water late one night

I’ve been folding clothes, deciding whether I wanted straight or curly hair , oh and folding more clothes. We all know how I feel about my dear old friend laundry!

I’ve been blessed to be working part-time, spending time with my hubby, and I have been spending more time with God with devotionals and reading the Bible.

blume-photography-photobooth
Photo Courtesy of Blume Photography

 

While all the above is true and nice, honestly I wrote a post about 2 weeks ago and was almost ready to publish it and then a bloggers worst nightmare occured…my internet momentarily decided to freeze, stopped  working, and then restarted for just a brief moment. So that awesome auto-save feature that I rely so heavily on, also decided not to work, so just like that my entire post was lost. I was pissed for about 2 minutes and then I took a deep breath, closed the computer after I gave it one long stare down, laughed, and kept it moving. I took it as a sign that it wasn’t time for me to post anything yet.

images2I was proud of myself because a couple of years ago, I would have searched long and hard for that post, possibly cursed(still working on this bad habit though), cried, and let it mess up my day. Nope, not this time, not happening! It was just a post, so in the words of Sweet Brown…

The older I get, the more I am realizing that things are inevitably going to happen, it’s just how you deal with it. Nine times out of ten, the way I respond is whether I am worrying about myself or not, if I feel entitled to responding like a complete fool or not. The ongoing theme the last few weeks for me when I feel myself about to get upset or fuss about something has been, “It ain’t about you!” (Imagine saying it in a Martin Lawrence talking to Gina voice). “It ain’t about you!”

And yes, that’s right, I said “Ain’t.”  This Midwestern- may-never- fully-claim- the-South girl whose former English teacher may cringe just said “ain’t,” and lately I have been saying “y’all,”  but that’s a different post all together you guys!

Anyway, back to “it ain’t about you!” See, how quickly I made it about myself, haha! When I stop and think to myself in the mist of the why’s, but’s, how’s of life, I have immediately referenced if I am making something that has nothing to do with me about me or if I am missing the overall big picture. For example, when all of my kiddos had been sick on and off for weeks a couple of weeks ago, it seemed we were finally in the clear this week.  In the clear to escape the den, I mean house, to go have a playdate and then…one child ‘s nose decides to have the runniest, sneeziest, thick green goblin snot just appear the morning we are getting dressed to go have fun…sigh. “It ain’t about you, Chantal!”  That day, I had to say it several times in my head because I, dang it, I mean the kids, really wanted to get out of the house that day after being cooped up due to weather and colds. But it wasn’t worth chancing someone else’s household getting the winter-sentence of one month in the house like our family. We stayed home.

I can get so caught up in the “auto-save” mode where I immediately just think about myself versus what is actually occurring or how a situation is helping, impacting, or changing someone else. There is nothing wrong with thinking about myself or considering my needs, but if I look at the bigger picture and realize that it is not all about me, it can change so much. If you know me, I am totally not self-centered but I have much room for improvement.

meandkiddosholiday

The gift of motherhood has shown me many of my flaws such as still being a little selfish, trying to be in control at times, and perfectionism. Having 3 toddlers that are 2- and 3- year- olds, none of these qualities can stand a chance! There is nothing like trying to be in control when my twin sons tell me “No thank you Mommy” when it is time to sit on the potty, which can easily be paired with two screaming and jumping fits, EVERY time it’s potty time (oh the joys of potty training twin boys! Why didn’t anyone tell me :/  ).

Oh yeah and I really felt perfect when my 3- year- old daughter told me today in the car that I am mean like the character Ursula from Disney’s “The Little Mermaid”  when I told her she couldn’t play on the play structure at Chick-Fil-A, “You are not not nice Mommy, like the purple octopus is not not nice in the Area [meaning Ariel] movie. She took her voice away.”

ursula

So as I am listening to her I am thinking to myself, “Well thanks a lot kid, that makes me feel all bubbly inside, even though you are using double negatives! Does it even matter that you are with Mommy all by yourself, had a juice box and jellybeans, and that you are heading to a birthday party as you are telling me this?… At least Ursula has great lips…I thought we were having fun…sigh…”

 

My sense of entitlement is slowly diminishing thanks to my husband, kiddos, and friends that God gave me and also my relationship that is growing with God. It all comes down to humility versus pride. I have a lot of work to do cleaning house regarding my pride but it’s becoming an easier chore to manage, sorta like laundry, it’s easier when you do a little bit at a time. So in the meantime, I can’t help but to think about the old commercials for Zest soap: ” You are not fully clean until you are Zestfully clean!”  Same with pride, entitlement, and selfishness- you will never be fully clean/humble until you are free of entitlement. Do you smell that?

The stuck-up fall flat on their faces, but down-to-earth people stand firm. Proverbs 11:2 The Message (MSG)

 

soap2

 

What are you feeling entitled about? Do you need to rid yourself of the “I” or the “IT” in entitlement? How “clean” are you?

~Chantal

3-babies-logo

2 thoughts on ““It Ain’t About You!” You’re Not Fully Clean until you’re Entitlement Free

  1. Yes, yes, and amen to this post! I love your writing. I have to rid myself of the “I” on a daily basis. The boys continually remind me that plans can and will be broken sometimes and a clean house will not stay clean longer than 10 minutes….lol. Like you this gift of motherhood is daily shaking off “I”. I’ve always been a go with the flow person, but I feel even more so now. I still plan, but remain open to change. Chris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

