Don’t You SEE IT?

Do you not see it Cover page

Yes, admittedly I am that one that has searched high and low for my sunglasses and low and behold, they are on my head. Let’s not even mention my phone or car key man-Little C side eyehunts. Every time one of my “missing searches” go underway, my kiddos, especially, my daughter will give me this look with a side-eye like “Mom, really?!?” All I can do is laugh.

Over the last several months, the scripture Isaiah 43:19 has been literally jumping out at me on the page when I read my Bible or hear various sermons and teachings. The scripture reads as follows in the NIV version:

  See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”

god-is-about-to-do-something-new-isaiah-43-19-8703176

I have been falling in love with this scripture and all of the various versions. First of all, I love that Isaiah says that “This is what the Lord says…” and secondly, the fact that this scripture has an exclamation point and in other versions, several of my favorite punctuation marks(yeah, I am a bit of a nerd)! If you have ever received an email or text from me, or read any of my previous post, I admit…. I love exclamation points!!!!!!!!!!

Isaiah is referring to the Israelites and their journey to the Promise Land. A trip that should have only taken 11 days per scholars took 40 years however because of lack of faith and obedience! Geesh! I would be so frustrated if I were apart of that group and come to find out that we could have been chilling in the Promise Land drinking milk and eating honey 39 years and 19 days earlier. In Isaiah 43:19, God is reminding them that He is making a way, to just stay focused on Him and not what happened in the past. You can’t make a “new thing” out of something that has already occurred…you have to do something new in the future or present.

Sometimes I feel like one of the Israelites. I longed and prayed to be a mother and even to be a stay at home mom once we had kids. I just recently hit the one year mark of making that gut-wrenching decision to leave my job as a medical social worker to care for my children full-time. I wish I could tell you it has been the most amazing and rewarding experience, believe me, I really do. But I would be lying! Am I thankful and blessed to be able to be the person that my kiddos are cared for by 24/7- absolutely.  I enjoy taking my kiddos to the park and reading books. I love seeing their little minds be shaped and molded. It is amazing to see my babies grow and develop into who God is calling them to be.

 

Do I have moments of insanity(and I am talking about the emotion, not the workout)? Sure do! At least there’s a balance, right? But sometimes I truly feel like I “missed” the mark and that I could have been in the “Promised Land” sooner if I would just trust in God completely and stop trying to do things in my own will.

It’s so easy to say what we would have done when we read a scripture like this or imagine a situation like walking to the Promise Land and it taking years versus days. But let’s be honest, how often do we worry, fret, think about the shoulda-woulda-coulda’s, or try to make a way for ourselves as we journey through life instead of literally rely fully on our God…. I am guilty of it, even as recent as today( as I raise my hand in shame).

 

See, I am doing a new thing! …”- The Lord is telling all of the Israelites(and in modern day, you and I) to look, I have something new for you. A change, a better way.” 

“Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?”- The Lord is saying, “okay seriously, just look, do you not see this! The new thing is literally right in front of you. I just gave you this or did that for you.”

I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”- “My beloved, what you are asking for,  I am doing, I made a way for you, I am showing you what to do” says God. This is exactly what I am doing for you and around you.

Y’all this scripture is so, so powerful and beautiful. This is God’s gentle reminder that the thing you are looking for, longing for, seeking so hard- is right in front of you. Similar to me looking for my sunglasses that are on my head or my car keys that are in my hand or on a serious note, pleading to God to make me a mother; God had already worked it out. God being the good Father that He is doesn’t let us walk around blindly feeling our way around. He takes us by the hand and is saying, “hey, look here at me, that’s right, you don’t see it yet, keep looking. I know what you need and what needs to happen.” In essence, “trust me my child.” Sometimes I wonder if God is giving me that side-eye like my sweet and charismatic daughter, like “Really?!” I have to chuckle at that thought and vision, haha.

Isaiah 43 19

So my friends, when you feel lost or confused, not sure where to go, how to get to “it”, take a deep-breath and remember this scripture. Fill in the blank as if God is talking to you about your specific situation, your “it.” It may go something like this: “ See, I am doing a new thing, (your name)! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it, (your name)? I am making a way in the wilderness(in your career, your marriage, your infertility, your finances) and streams( promotion, restoration, children, financial provision)in the wasteland.”

When we put our name in this scripture, it feels so much more personal right? It makes God more tangible and His words more powerful.

Whatever challenge or valley you may be going through, just know that you are not alone. God is working in the midst of the journey and making the journey easier by providing what you need when you need it. God’s mercy and love will guide us if we are sensitive to His leading and direction.

I encourage you to meditate on this scripture, Isaiah 43:19, as you go about your day today. You may have a different perspective on what tomorrow will bring.

~Chantal

3-babies-logo

 

6 thoughts on “Don’t You SEE IT?

Leave a Reply

