Have It to the FULL

Every now and then, I wake up with amazing reminders of just how good God is. I know, Yes, He is good all the time, but it’s easy to forget. I may be the only one, but sometimes I just need a good reminder. Today was one of those days.

I receive a verse of the day from my bible app, called YouVersion. Most days I read it and keep it moving but today the words in the particular scripture seemed to be highlighted. The verse read ” The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life and have it to the full.”

IMG_0162

You see last night, was a rough one. The kids were having a very hard time going to sleep and I was plum exhausted. We needed to wake up early today so I was getting super frustrated. Please just go to sleep! After I got over myself, I realized that they just wanted to have cuddle time and feel secure. So we all piled up in our queen size bed and fell asleep. These moments are precious and ones that I will always treasure.

But oh, how quickly we forget! That alarm clock seemed to be yelling at me like a drill sergeant this morning” Get up girl! I don’t care if you didn’t get a lot sleep last night. It’s time to get up!”  Thank goodness for the snooze button! “Sir, yes sir! But in 8 minutes please…”

Anyway, back to this scripture. With sleepy eyes and while in a daze, the words ” have it to the full” instantly became like a shot of hot expresso. It gave me life and a purpose. It made me realize just how grateful I am to God for giving his only son so that I can have this life and I can have it to the full. Wow! What an honor.

Just last week our whole entire family served on a missions trip to Jamaica( Click here to read about our missions experience). It was life changing and life giving. Reflecting back this morning, it hit me that the kids are still adjusting to the time changes and our “normal” routine. They keep saying they “miss Jamaica” but what that really mean in their toddler way is that they miss our family being together as a whole essentially 24/7 for an entire week. Last night they just wanted to be surrounded by love and feel secure, like they did in Jamaica. I easily could have missed this moment last night, but I am grateful that I put my wants aside.

My husband, a man of little words at times said the most poignant thing while we were driving through the lush green mountains of Salter’s Hill, Montego Bay, Jamaica…”Now THIS is living!” We were living. Living a life that God has called us to live and to give to others thousands of miles away. We had life and we had it to the full. Correction… We have life and we have it to the full!

youarefullofitdandcmission
We had just landed into Jamaica, ready to serve! JA Missions 2017. D &C. Photo Credit: Chantal

 

As we take each day to adjust to “normal” life, I have been trying to figure out how and what we took away from serving  that can translate into our day-to-day lives. This scripture was a great reminder of that. You don’t have to serve abroad to live a full life. God has given us each a chance to live life to the fullest- it’s your choice to take it!

Are you living? Are you living a full life? What does it(living) look like for you and your family? My friends, it is never too late to start living and living to the fullest. You were created for a reason and have a purpose- seek it and live it!

~Chantal

3-babies-logo

 

6 thoughts on “Have It to the FULL

Leave a Reply

